Junior League of Champaign-Urbana Wraps up the 2014-15 Year with Awards and Traditional Gavel Pass

presidentsIt has been quite a year for JLCU!  Thank you to all of our amazing members who worked hard serving the community this year on our projects and participating in the success of our fundraisers!   We wish President Denise Bates and all of the outing Board and Management Team great success in their future endeavors.

JLCU ended their year in the traditional way, by giving awards to members, community partners and high school students.

At the May General Meeting, the following awards were given:

The Elizabeth Alexander Spirit Award went to Laura Gerhold, Chair of FOT this past year, for being an exceptionally effective leader of the committee and the largest fundraiser for JLCU, as well as taking on leadership roles in other organizations.  Those who know her can speak to her positive, “can-do” spirit that radiates through everything that she does.     Konken

The Sustainer Impact Award went to Mary Konken for taking what she learned in League on going on to found Champaign-Urbana’s Girls on the Run program at the Stephens Family YMCA.

ParkhillThe Jen Smith Living Legendary Award, a new award this year to honor former member Jennifer Smith, whose commitment to “Living Legendary” before she succumbed to breast cancer had a positive impact on everyone who knew her, went to Page Johnson Parkhill.   Page is a sustaining member of JLCU, who served as Treasurer as well as other roles, who chooses to help others, against all adversity, in our community.  She carries the mission of JLCU into her church and other organizations, serving on boards and chairing fundraisers.

The “First in Family” High School Scholarship and Award went to Quyen Nguyen from University HS.First in Family

HS winnersHigh School Senior Scholarships and Awards were received by Allison Wisniewski at Centennial HS , Mia Miller at Central HS, Brookelyn Childers at Judah Christian HS,  Alexis Burgin at STM HS, Isabel Morfor-Cheibub at University HS, and Hanna LaFond-Hyman at Urbana HS.

Outgoing President, Denise Bates, thanked the membership for a wonderful year full of new projects, exciting fundraisers and getting our “Game On”.  Incoming President, Heather Vazquez, accepted the gavel passed to her by 11 former presidents of JLCU. During her thoughtful remarks, she shared what Junior League has taught her about serving her community and why she is excited about the year to come.Gavel Pass

Thank you again to all of our members and supporters!  Have a great summer!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s